border control travel bans

The tourism industry is indispensable for at least half of the member states of the European Union. As such, the restrictions on cross-border travel due to the Covid-19 (coronavirus) epidemic are being relaxed, albeit partially, with the decrease in the number of cases. In a statement published last week, the European Commission recommended lifting the travel bans and controls applied at the “internal borders” between the countries included in the Schengen free movement area. Many EU member countries have complied with this call and as of yesterday, they have generally opened the doors to the citizens of EU member countries. Let’s take a quick look at these countries:

Austria: Sweden, which was badly affected by the epidemic, opened the door to the citizens of EU member states, except Spain and Portugal. British tourists are also banned. In addition, tourists entering the country must present a negative Covid-19 test result within four days of the date of entry.

Belgium: Citizens of the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein can also enter, in addition to citizens of EU member states.

Czech Republic: Citizens of 20 European countries in the “low risk” group can enter the country without testing or quarantine. Passengers from Portugal, Sweden, Belgium, the United Kingdom and Poland are still banned.

Denmark: The country has opened the door to visitors from Germany, Norway and Iceland, provided that they have a minimum 6-night stay reservation in advance. Quarantine advice is given to tourists coming from cities with a population of more than 750 thousand.

France: It opened the doors to Schengen countries with EU members. However, those arriving from Spain or the United Kingdom are required to self-quarantine for 14 days after entering France, in retaliation for the quarantine rules these countries impose on arrival.

Greece: Greece, one of the EU countries most in need of tourism income, opened its doors to visitors from 29 countries as of yesterday. These include Israel, Japan, China, Australia and New Zealand, which are not members of the EU or Schengen. But on the other hand “high risk area” Passengers arriving from international airports in cities marked as ‘ cannot enter the country. It is confusing that there are airports in the United Kingdom, France, Italy, Spain, Canada and many US airports.

Italy: Those arriving from EU countries, the United Kingdom, Schengen countries, Andorra and Monaco can enter Italy without quarantine if they have not been to another country other than their home country until 14 days before their arrival.

Spain: Borders were partially opened as of 21 June. Visitors from EU and Schengen countries and the United Kingdom are brought into the country by measuring their temperature and obtaining a report and contact addresses showing whether they have been infected with the coronavirus before. Citizens of Andorra and Gibraltar were already exempt from bans.

Germany: Borders have been opened to EU countries and those arriving from Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, the United Kingdom and Liechtenstein. Restrictions imposed on non-EU countries are expected to last until 31 August.

United Kingdom: The borders of the country are open. Except for those from Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man, every visitor who sets foot in the country has to stay in quarantine for 14 days.

Sweden: Doors are open to EU, Schengen, UK and Switzerland.

Iceland: It opened the door to visitors from EU and Schengen countries as well as the UK. It is possible to get rid of the mandatory two-week quarantine application by getting tested at the airport upon arrival in the country.

Holland: Citizens of 30 EU and Schengen member countries can enter. Except for Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Finland: People from Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania can enter the country without a quarantine obligation. Visitors from other EU countries can only enter the country if they are traveling for business purposes and can prove it.

Switzerland: Yesterday, it opened its doors to those coming from the EU and Schengen countries and the United Kingdom.

Croatia: It opened the doors to EU countries and UK citizens without quarantine.

Bulgaria: EU members and the United Kingdom, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, Serbia and North Macedonia opened borders to my citizens.

Bosnia and Herzegovina: It has opened borders to neighboring Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia. Citizens of other countries are still banned.

Warning: The information in this article can only be used in the form of partial quotations and by showing the source linked to this page. Copy-paste is not possible.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here